Bar-On model of emotional intelligence has 15 EQ Competencies

A crowd of people walk along a large city street.

15 competencies from the original EQ-i:

  • Self-Regard – respecting oneself; confidence
  • Self-Actualization – pursuit of meaning; self-improvement
  • Emotional Self-Awareness – understanding own emotions
  • Emotional Expression – constructive expression of emotions
  • Assertiveness – communicating feelings, beliefs; non-offensive
  • Independence – self-directed; free from emotional dependency
  • Interpersonal Relationships – mutually satisfying relationships
  • Empathy – understanding, appreciating how others feel
  • Social Responsibility – social consciousness; helpful
  • Problem Solving – find solutions when emotions are involved
  • Reality Testing – objective; see things as they really are
  • Impulse Control – resist or delay impulse to act
  • Flexibility – adapting emotions, thoughts and behaviors
  • Stress Tolerance – coping with stressful situations
  • Optimism – positive attitude and outlook on life

Level B assessment tool

The EQ-i is now the EQ-i 2.0. It’s a Level B psychometric and, as such, requires that one meet the academic requirements to use a Level B assessment tool OR that they take the EQ-i 2.0 Certification Course. I have met people who were using the EQ-i 2.0 as a result of meeting the academic requirements and, unfortunately, they were not adequately prepared to leverage some of the more sophisticated aspects of the EQ-i 2.0.

We offer the EQ-i 2.0 Certification Course in a number of cities as an open enrollment course and is regularly invited to deliver custom, in-house courses which saves organizations on travel and accommodation expenses and ensures that an organization’s unique needs are met.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *